SMP’s School Partnership Award winners announced

6 Dec 2019

Twelve schools came together this week for the School Partnership Awards to share their Malawian partnerships and inspire new ideas.


The Scotland Malawi Partnership is happy to announce the 2019 winners of the inaugural School Partnership Awards.

The twelve shortlisted schools from across Scotland attended the announcement at the City Council Chambers, Edinburgh on the 5th December 2019.

The Scotland Malawi Partnership were lucky to have special guest speakers in attendance. Including prize-giver William Kamkwamba (The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind), talks from Andrew Dickie (Malawi Climate Leader Project Officer for the 2050 Climate Group) and Silvia Sabino Hunt (Global Education Advisor for ScotDec) and an introductory speech from the Lord Provost of Edinburgh, Frank Ross.

Congratulations to the following schools – and their Malawian school partners – for being the first ever winners of the School Partnership Awards:

  • Penicuik High School and their partners Namadzi CDSS
  • George Watson’s College and their partners St Andrew’s Secondary School and Palm Beach School
  • The Mary Erskine School and The Edinburgh Girls High School
  • St Maurice’s High School
  • The 25th Stirling (Dunblane) Boys’ Brigade

Thank you to all the schools who attended and all their inspiring award entries. Check out the activities of the day in the video and photos below.

Rod Penn's full photo album from Flickr

Scotland Malawi Partnership School Partnership Awards 2019


We’d like to thank the National Lottery Year of Young People fund as well as National Lottery players for supporting the School Partnership Awards. We’d also like to thank the Scottish Government, Orbis Expeditions, and the David Livingstone Birthplace Project for their support of the event.