

Malawi All-Party Parliamentary Group Inaugural Annual General Meeting 29th November 2017, 09.10 MINUTES

Attendance:

- Patrick Grady MP (SNP)
- Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale (Labour)
- Ross Thomson MP (Cons)
- Kirstene Hair MP (Cons)
- David Linden MP (SNP)
- Ian Murray MP (Labour)
- Alison Thewliss MP (SNP)
- Jim Shannon MP (DUP)
- Alistair Carmichael MP (Lib Dem)
- Brendan O'Hara MP (SNP)
- Douglas Ross MP (Cons)
- Neil Gray MP (SNP)

Apologies:

Apologies were presented from:

- Paul Masterton MP (Cons)
- Stephen Kerr MP (Cons)
- Rory Stewart MP (Cons)
- Angus MacNeil MP (SNP)
- Kirsty Blackman MP (SNP)

Statement of Purpose:

The Group adopted the following statement of purpose:

"To promote understanding and awareness among parliamentarians, positive relations between our countries, and provide a forum for discussion on relevant issues affecting politics, society, culture and the economy in Malawi."

Election of Officers:

The Group elected the following office bearers:

Chair & Registered Contact:	Patrick Grady MP	SNP
Hon. President:	Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale	Labour
<u>Co-Vice Chairs</u> :	Ross Thomson MP Hugh Gaffney MP Christine Jardine MP Jim Shannon MP	Conservatives Labour Liberal Dems DUP
Secretary:	Kirstene Hair MP	Conservatives
Treasurer:	David Linden MP	SNP

Malawi All-Party Parliamentary Group

www.scotland-malawipartnership.org/APPG Chair and Registered Contact: Patrick Grady MP, patrick.grady.mp@parliament.uk 020 7219 6398 Secretariat: David Hope-Jones, david@scotland-malawipartnership.org 0131 529 3164

- John Lamont MP (Cons)
- Martin Whitfield MP (Lab)
- Colin Clark MP (Cons)
- Hugh Gaffney MP (Lab)
- David Hope-Jones (Scotland Malawi
- Partnership)
- Scott Taylor (Patrick Grady MP's office)
- Emma Armshaw (SNP, WFD)
- Natasha Fox (SNP, WFD)
- Oliver Hall (Commonwealth Parliamentary Assoc., UK)
- Lisa Cameron MP (SNP)
- Mhairi Black MP (SNP)
- Tommy Sheppard MP (SNP)
- Lord Steel of Aikwood (Lib Dem)
- Christine Jardine MP (Lib Dem)



Secretariat:

The Group appointed David Hope-Jones, the Chief Executive of the Scotland Malawi Partnership, as the Secretariat. The Scotland Malawi Partnership is able to offer *pro bono* staffing support for the group, to a value of up to £1,499 a year.

Accounting and Finance:

It was agreed that there would be no formal accounting or finance for the Group.

Frequency of meetings:

The Group agreed to aim for one meeting between each recess, with additional meetings as opportunities arose.

Priorities for 2018:

The Group identified the following areas of interest for its first year of operation:

- the 2019 Malawi elections,
- the UK Government's forthcoming Africa Strategy,
- the UK-Malawi Double Taxation Treaty,
- UK-Malawi business links,
- UK visas for those invited from Malawi,
- understanding the many UK-Malawi civic links

Speakers in 2018:

The Group identified the following potential speakers to address the group in 2018:

- H.E. Prof Peter Mutharika, President of Malawi
- Mr Rory Stewart, Minister of State for Africa
- H.E. Holly Tett, British High Commissioner to Malawi
- H.E. Kena Mphonda, Malawi High Commissioner to the UK
- Ms Jen Marshall, Head of DFID Malawi

Communications:

The Group agreed to not initially have a dedicated social media presence but to encourage the use of the twitter hashtag #MalawiAPPG. It was agreed the Scotland Malawi Partnership will initially host a web-page for the APPG at www.scotland-malawipartnership.org/appg.